First Weekend as a Sojourner

I was duly warned before I set foot on this country that nothing would be what I was used to or expected. I was rather taken aback by the experiences shared by those who lived here recently, but I took in these well-meaning advice and braced myself for the worst, with a pinch of skepticism. Yet, nothing prepared me for what I was about to experience.

I landed on a grey and wet Friday, after a delayed landing of 2 hours and 3 suitcases to manage on my own. I was immensely grateful that I went through the e-gates without much trouble and picked up all my luggage at the belt shortly after. Getting to the airport bus station was not difficult once I found the signage for it. Trying to bring 50 kg of luggage was the problem. After some struggle, I was finally boarded the coach and well on the way to my destination.

Getting off at the coach terminal stop without a game plan was a bad idea. I realised that as soon as I alighted and collected my luggage. Two hands for three suitcases on uneven pavement and not knowing where I can go to get a cab to my accomodation, my mind blanked out. It took me a few minutes to recompose myself and asked for help. Who could I ask? Thankfully, I saw a Chinese lady who pointed me to a side road where I could wait for a cab and helped me bring one of my luggage to the waiting point.

Finally a cab came and I arrived at the university accomodation. With help from the site assistants, I managed to collect my keys and started my 10-minute walk to my block. This would have become a 30-minute walk if not for the fact that I had help. A kind soul offered to help me with one of my luggage (as he was going in the same direction) and walked me to my block. And then I was on my own to carry the bags up three flights of stairs. Having led a rather sedentary lifestyle up till this point, I thought my heart was going to burst from all this heavy-lifting and activity.

Something else to be thankful for, while London was grey and wet, Oxford thankfully was dry and sunny.

Rocky beginnings: The walk from the reception to my block (the third block from where the photo was taken)

When I finally opened the door to my apartment, I was ready to weep and take the next flight home. The kitchen area and bathroom smell stale. There were cobwebs all over and food particles stuck on the cooker top and in the fridge/freezer. The sofa was covered with visible dust and dirt. I was horrified and traumatised. This was like the last thing I needed after traveling close to 17 hours to get here. But I had no time for self-pity; I had to get cleaning.

Livable is how I would now describe my apartment, after much deep cleaning and sprucing up with Ikea products (taken on Day 7 of moving in)

And if this wasn’t bad enough, my toilet stopped working on the 2nd day I moved in. In an apartment complex without common bathroom facilities, I had to walk 2 blocks to use the bathroom, each time I needed to relieve myself. After a brief (actually not-so-brief) moment of panic, I calmed myself down and went online in search for help. I emailed the Accommodation Office but no one was working on a Saturday.

Thankfully, the automated acknowledge reply had a number that I could call and the security services managed to get a plumber to come and take a look. However, he could not immediately rectify the problem, but he tried his best to help. The security also worked with the Accommodation Office to give me a spare room (in the next block unfortunately) should I wish to move over till my toilet issues were resolved or to use as a bathroom. To cut the long story short, the toilet is now usable but there are still outstanding plumbing issues to be resolved.

Honestly, my first weekend in this new country could not have been worse. Nothing, nothing in my life till this point has prepared me to deal with anything like this, on my own. It was truly God’s grace, coupled with support from my family and the nice strangers who lent a helping hand, that saw me through this very trying weekend.

Hopefully, things will slowly but surely get better.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. – Proverbs 3:5-6

One thought on “First Weekend as a Sojourner

Leave a comment